Jeff Andrews Elected Chair of IEEE CTTC

Monday, March 08, 2021

WNCG professor Jeff Andrews has been elected Chair of the Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) of the IEEE Communications Society. 

CTTC sits at the forefront of theoretical research on communications. The committee is especially interested in “novel use of communication theory and/or information theory to solve problems in areas that include (but are not limited to) source and channel coding, storage, modulation, detection, estimation, synchronization, multiple access, interference mitigation, and networking.”

CTTC organizes the IEEE Communication Theory Workshop and the Communication Theory Symposiums at ICC and Globecom, in addition to other roles within the Communications Society.

This prestigious technical committee has operated since 1964 and currently has over 200 members. Andrews’ designation as Chair was the first competitive election for the position. He will serve as Chair for 2021 and 2022.