WNCG faculty

Prof. Robert Heath Wins IEEE Communications Society Award

WNCG professor Robert Heath received IEEE Communications Society’s (ComSoc) 2018 Wireless Technical Committee Recognition Award. The commendation recognizes Heath’s “high degree of visibility and contribution in the field of ‘Wireless and Mobile Communications Theory, Systems, and Networks.’”

Prof. Nanshu Lu of Texas Aerospace Engineering Joins WNCG

WNCG is happy to announce our newest faculty member, Prof. Nanshu Lu! Prof. Lu joins us from The University of Texas at Austin’s Departments of Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering. She has been with the University of Texas at Austin since 2011 and currently holds the title of Associate Professor.

Prof. Lu's research focuses on the mechanics and manufacture of flexible, stretchable, and bio-integrated electronics. Her research team, comprised of 11 PhD students and one postdoctoral researcher, concentrates on four major areas:

Prof. Constantine Caramanis among promoted ECE faculty

WNCG faculty member Constantine Caramanis was one of five associate professors in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (ECE) promoted to full professor this spring.

Caramanis joined UT ECE and WNCG in the fall of 2006; he is currently the WNCG’s assistant director. His research interests include: Decision-making under uncertainty, Statistical learning and data driven decision-making, Large scale networks and computation, and Adaptive Control and Optimization.

WNCG Welcomes 2 New Faculty

In January 2016, WNCG welcomed two new faculty to its ranks - the husband and wife dynamic duo of research, Profs. Andrea and Edison Thomaz.

“It is an incredibly exciting time to be at UT Austin,” Prof. Edison Thomaz states. “And WNCG exemplifies the type of forward-thinking that makes UT stand out. Having graduated from UT myself many ages ago, I could not pass up the opportunity to come back, contribute and be part of this transformation.”

Prof. Todd Humphreys Receives NSF CAREER Award

WNCG Prof. Todd Humphreys, who is also part of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at UT Austin received the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award totaling $500,000 from the National Science Foundation.

Four WNCG Faculty Named Highly Cited Researchers

WNCG Professors Jeffrey Andrews, Alan Bovik, Robert Heath and Sriram Vishwanath were recently included in the Thomson Reuters list of highly cited researchers for 2014. The list recognizes the world’s leading scientific minds.

Out of the seven Cockrell School professors honored with this title, four of them are WNCG faculty. Their inclusion in this list illustrates WNCG’s growing influence on the UT Austin community as well as on the global research landscape.


Subscribe to RSS - WNCG faculty